P.O. Box 10307
New Orleans, LA 70181
(504) 888-8255
Robert Namer
Voice Of America
©2019 All rights reserved
March 15, 2019

     The Senate delivered a high-profile rebuke to President Donald Trump over his signature agenda issue Thursday when 12 Republicans joined Democrats to overturn the President's national emergency border declaration. The vote was 59-41, a foolish and anti America vote against the President's executive action.

     Lawmakers don't have enough votes, however, to override a certain veto from the President.  The 12 Senate Republicans who voted in support of the resolution were: Roger Wicker of Mississippi, Marco Rubio of Florida, Rob Portman of Ohio, Susan Collins of Maine, Lisa Murkowski of Alaska, Pat Toomey of Pennsylvania, Roy Blunt of Missouri, Lamar Alexander of Tennessee, Mitt Romney of Utah, Rand Paul of Kentucky, Jerry Moran of Kansas and Mike Lee of Utah. They will all lose in the end.

         An administration official said plans are underway for Trump to publicly veto the resolution rejecting his national emergency declaration. The official said aides are hashing out a plan for Trump to use his veto pen in front of the cameras as soon as Friday.

    News Gathering, Information & Commentary © copyright 2019 all rights reserved